Contact Lenses for Cosplay

Want to learn or teach how to make something? Feel free to contribute here!
PaxExMusa

Contact Lenses for Cosplay

Post by PaxExMusa » Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:18 pm

Hi!
As cosplayers, we often have to change our eye colors to match the (often wildly improbable/impossible) eye colors of the characters we depict. A good set of colored lenses can make a huge difference! I didn't see any topics about this (if I missed it, sorry, and feel free to move this as appropriate), but I did see a question or two and figured I'd take a crack at it. I am by no means an expert (or optometrist!), so chime in with any other experiences or considerations I may miss!

Power
Power is the capability of the lens to compensate for you being near- or far-sighted. Can you see things close up, but not far away? You're probably near-sighted! (Join the club, my friends.) If you have a large enough deviation from the 'standard' of what should be visible at 20 feet, you probably already have vision correction, perhaps in a pair of prescription contacts, or maybe in glasses. Power is often not the same in each eye and may vary over time.

Spherical/Cylindrical
If your eye just isn't a perfect ball shape, you may have a condition called astigmatism. (Again, welcome to the club!) It often creates starbust patterns around light sources, and may multiply the edges of objects, which is especially troublesome for fine-detail tasks or at night. Astigmatism may be very mild or very severe, and is independent of power. You may have no need for a powered lens, but your astigmatism may require correction. Special lenses are required to correct for astigmatism (typically called toric lenses, these usually have a thicker or heavier edge so they rotate on your eye when you blink so they are always right side up). As with power, astigmatism may vary between eyes, or over time.

Seeing the Optometrist