Yuna Hair Tail + First Time Cosplayer = Fear

Need help with sewing techniques, or making a 10 ft sword? Seek help from other cosplayers here!
starkyshark

Yuna Hair Tail + First Time Cosplayer = Fear

Post by starkyshark » Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:28 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm new to cosplay and I have a Yuna Gunner Mage outfit almost ready for the San Diego Comic Con. I just need the boots (I'm regretting not thinking of this back in January when the boots were all on sale--blast!) and the hair tail.

The hair tail is freaking me out. I mean, I love Yuna in X-2. But I kind of always hated the hair tail. How scandalous would it be to go without it?

But let's say I wanted to cave into accuracy, how could I make one in the first place? I looked on eBay and there's this seller selling JUST the hair tail for like $60 and the wig and hair tail for $90. I don't need a wig because my hair is light brown and short and can be easily styled into a Yuna type 'do. But that hair tail... I am so not buying a hair tail for sixty bucks.

So I'm looking for advice on the hair tail situation (to tail or not to tail, that is the question). Also, any good ideas on where to get cheap boots this time of year is appreciated. (I found a good pair on eBay, but I'm nervous about buying USED shoes on eBay, or used shoes in general. I mean, don't chiggers and fungus and planters warts live in those things? How can I trust the previous owner didn't have these conditions/parasites?)

Overly paranoid,
--S

Amiya

Post by Amiya » Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:19 pm

Well, I made a Yuna hairtail before, even though it was for my Gunner costume, it's still the same basic idea.

I rolled up some newspaper and tape them into the basic shape. Then I wrap/braided 4 pieces of red trim around that. I bought a pack of hair extensions and sewed/glued then to the bottom. Then I sewed a dyed a piece of white fabric and sewed it onto the end. And I added a ribbon to make it resemble the original.