Dire need of costume advice

Need help with sewing techniques, or making a 10 ft sword? Seek help from other cosplayers here!
dreamxtime

Dire need of costume advice

Post by dreamxtime » Mon May 22, 2006 6:07 pm

'kay, I'm a total newb to cosplay - the costume I'm working on now is my first cosplay ever.

It's going fairly well, I'm cosplaying as Sakura Shinguji from Sakura-Taisen. This costume needs to be finished in a week. I have almost everything done, but I'm having a bit of an issue with the obi.

A lady made the obi for me because she wanted to help, and I was much obliged, since she's good at sewing. Thing is, she did it wrong and instead of being solid blue fabric, the obi is blue fabric with a red-and-gold pattern. I haven't put the light-blue thin ribbon-like part over the royal blue yet, since I'm at a loss.

If I try dyeing the obi, I'm running a risk of ruining it, and if that happens then I'm up a creek without a paddle.

I could just leave the pattern, put the light-blue ribbon on, and say it's a personal touch, but as I've never cosplayed before, I don't know how that will go over. I really want this to be done right, but I also don't want to mess it up, since I'm so close to convention time and my blood, sweat, and tears have gone into this costume.

I don't know what to do. Any advice from more experienced cosplayers?

TR Rose

Post by TR Rose » Mon May 22, 2006 6:11 pm

If you think about it, most anime is simplified for ease of animating. Adding extra detail can usually make a design stand out more than if you had done it plain. If you had left something off, it would be noticeable. Adding a design to the fabric makes it more realistic.

*tosses 2 yen in bucket*

BlackKnightress210

Post by BlackKnightress210 » Tue May 23, 2006 5:31 am